DEFAULT

Walk Into The Light - Automato - Automato (CD, Album)


Download Walk Into The Light - Automato - Automato (CD, Album)
2004
Label: Labels - 724357789721 • Format: CD Album • Country: Europe • Genre: Hip Hop • Style: Conscious

Friday 28 August Saturday 29 August Sunday 30 August Monday 31 August Tuesday 1 September Wednesday 2 September Thursday 3 September Friday 4 September Saturday 5 September Sunday 6 September Monday 7 September Tuesday 8 September Wednesday 9 September Thursday 10 September Friday 11 September Saturday 12 September Sunday 13 September Monday 14 September Tuesday 15 September Wednesday 16 September Thursday 17 September Friday 18 September Saturday 19 September Sunday 20 September Monday 21 September Tuesday 22 September Wednesday 23 September Thursday 24 September Friday 25 September Saturday 26 September Sunday 27 September Monday 28 September Tuesday 29 September Wednesday 30 September Thursday 1 October Friday 2 October Saturday 3 October Sunday 4 October Monday 5 October Tuesday 6 October Wednesday 7 October Thursday 8 October Friday 9 October Saturday 10 October Sunday 11 October Monday 12 October Tuesday 13 October Wednesday 14 October Thursday 15 October Friday 16 October Saturday 17 October Sunday 18 October Monday 19 October Tuesday 20 October Wednesday 21 October Thursday 22 October Friday 23 October Saturday 24 October Sunday 25 October Monday 26 October Tuesday 27 October Wednesday 28 October Thursday 29 October Monday 2 November Tuesday 3 November Wednesday 4 November Thursday 5 November Friday 6 November Saturday 7 November Sunday 8 November Monday 9 November Automato is here to answer your question.

First things first, I should mention the surmountable hipster quotient of this album. It excites me as an ardent music nerd that they have put their names behind a HIP-HOP record, and this will no doubt intrigue a great many indie aficionados on the search for the next too-cool-for-school yuppie record.

Hell, you get a big green sticker on the front of the digipak if you purchase it. Thankfully, it pleases me to report that my cynicism was entirely unfounded, for what we have on our hands is a suitably impressive debut that drips with effortless cool. The frenetic feel of the track eventually swells into unlistenable cacophony, as a squealing guitar line battles a hyperactive jungle beat for breathing room.

One major complaint that can be raised about the record lies within the lyrical delivery. While closer attention reveals an acute sensitivity to relevant socio-economic issues, the delivery is underwhelming in its uniformity. While technically polished cadence and breath control are on-point, and I can have no gripes about the clinical manner with which the lyrics are delivered- always adapting to the progressive structures and time signatures of the music , the emcee simply lacks the charisma or mic presence to thoroughly engage the listener.

Automato are a hip-hop sextet from New York. Focus introduces their style well, but it is track two, The Single, that is the first real sign of brilliance.

Indeed it is this song that seems odds on to be the next single off the album. Track three, My Casio is structured around a portamento bass-line that threatens to fall through even the most heavily fortified of floors.

By the time debut single Walk Into The Light is over, it is clear that Automato are loaded up to the gills with creative juice, with use of odd time signatures, complex rhythms, diverse instrumentation and originality in form. Their debut album becomes truly exciting to listen to at the realisation of such expertise. That their songs are in no hurry to finish is testament to this — Automato operate on a waste not, want not policy, squeezing every last drop of creativity from their never boring songs.

It is precisely this that makes Automato sometimes hard to listen to, and this album is certainly not for the musically closed-minded.



Sitemap

Walk On Water, Optic View - S.E.M;I - Electric Cell (CDr, Album), War With No Pain - Various - The Birth Of A Tragedy (Vinyl, LP), Cu-Cu-Rru-Cu-Cu, Paloma - John Gary - Spanish Moonlight (Vinyl, LP, Album), Konzert G-Dur Für 4 Violonen, Du Kannst Zaubern - Roger Whittaker - Ultimative Hits - Best Of Roger Whittaker (CD), The Tell-Tale Heart - The Alan Parsons Project - Tales Of Mystery And Imagination (Vinyl, LP, Album), Farewell To Granada - Dmitri Shostakovich - Shostakovich Edition (Box Set), Y Galw - Richie Thomas (3) - Richie Thomas Yn Canu (Vinyl), Целый мир - Анатолий Днепров - Прямой ответ (CD, Album), Deep Inside - Mary J. Blige - Digital Collection (CDr), Satisfied Mind Til The Lights Go Out - Various - Stateside Volume 1 (CD)

9 Comments

  1. Kigagal Permalink
    Automato Format: Audio CD. See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions. Listen Now with Amazon Music: Walk into the Light "Please retry" Amazon Music Unlimited: Price New from Used from MP3 Music, June 25, "Please retry" $ $ — Audio CD, Single, January 1,
    Reply
  2. Arashirn Permalink
    Walk Into The Light, an album by Automato on Spotify. our partners use cookies to personalize your experience, to show you ads based on your interests, and for measurement and analytics purposes.
    Reply
  3. Tygogar Permalink
    Sep 09,  · Listen to Walk into the Light - EP by Automato on Apple Music. Stream songs including "Walk into the Light", "Walk into the Light (Instrumental Mix)" and more. Album · · 5 Songs.
    Reply
  4. Sabei Permalink
    ‘Walk Into The Light’ is the debut UK single by Automato, whose forthcoming self titled album was produced by NYC production mavericks at DFA. The single is followed-up next week by the release of the band’s eponymous debut album which mixes up 70’s funk and soul, a solid amount of early 90’s indie rock, organic hip-hop beats and syncopated lyrical exploration. Revolutions Remixes.
    Reply
  5. Akikree Permalink
    Walk Into The Light Automato Automato’s self-titled debut album, which was released in , gained plaudits from all over the globe, with several critics labeling the sextet the ‘ Radiohead of hip-hop’ for their willingness to experiment with odd time signatures and complex rhythms.
    Reply
  6. Kagal Permalink
    Produced by Tim Goldsworthy and James Murphy for The DFA with the assistance of Phil Mossman. Recorded at Plaintain NYC and RPM studios from May 15, /5(10).
    Reply
  7. Akinobei Permalink
    This album starts off with a deep and deliberate hip-hop backbeat on the very promising "Focus," which is quite focused, bringing to mind Jay-Z and his "99 Problems" hit but slightly lighter. Plodding along nicely, Automato is also influenced by bands like the Beastie Boys and A Tribe Called Quest with keyboards and piano in the mix.7/
    Reply
  8. Torg Permalink
    View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the CD release of "Automato" on Discogs.
    Reply
  9. Shaktishura Permalink
    Walk Into The Light: Gold Of Desert Kings: Cool Boots: Hollywood And Vine: Capes Billowing: The Let Go: How To Read A Person Like A Book: Hope: Credits (8) The DFA Producer, Written-By. Phil Mossman Co-producer. John Weiner Engineer. Automato: Automato ‎ (CD, Album) Coup De Grâce: CGC 2: US: /5(28).
    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *