DEFAULT

Ol 55 - Tom Waits - Closing Time (CD, Album)


Download Ol 55 - Tom Waits - Closing Time (CD, Album)
1997
Label: ООО ДОРА - JPCD9707447 • Format: CD Album, Reissue, Unofficial Release • Country: Russia • Genre: Jazz, Blues, Pop • Style: Smooth Jazz, Piano Blues, Ballad

June 22, Massimo Priviero. November 1, Universal American Garage. Don Campbell. November 8, Playbutton Records From The Fountain. Queen Bees. January 5, David Munyon. March 27, Stockfisch From Dusk Till Dawn. Sass Jordan. September 1, Paul Harrington. February 26, Stereoplex Records. Waits performing "Ol' '55". With: Larry Taylor upright bass and Smokey Hormel guitar, banjo and percussion.

I don't know if there's any real bona fide Buick owners out there tonight. But my goodness, that's an automobile that I swear by. It's a car that's seriously as slick as deer guts on the door knob. Climb aboard one of those suckers, make you feel like a new man. And eh I always had these cars that I bought for like a hundred and twenty-five dollars. You sink 'bout thirty-five hundred into them, and you sell 'em for twelfe fifty or so.

I stuck to the Buick line for several years. I had two Specials, one was a kind of It was kind of monkey brown and eh It was a lot of chrome, kinda looked like a Wurlitzer jukebox. And I had two of those Specials, the other was kinda vomit yellow, it [? And I had a couple of Centuries, finally I had a Super. And then I finally picked up on this Roadmaster, and lucky to get it! So this is called 'My Ol' '55'. Tom Waits eGroups discussionlist, Live intro from Westchester, PA, : "Here's a real old song for you.

Actually, it's about the very first car I ever stole. You know I don't know, I still remain somehow a victim of circumcision, in the sense that I have a tendency to be cursed with terminal car trouble.

And I don't expect it to let up at all. I never paid more than a hundred and twenty-five dollars for a car. And I ain't about to change now. But I would like to have maybe a Chevrolet station wagon, and sand it down and primer the thing. Yeah Where did you see me in a station wagon? Yeah, I was in a station wagon once. Yeah, I was something, something out the window You were the one, yeah! I'd like to have a big round of applause for my brother-in-law right there.

Phil's been out of prison now for a couple of years, but No, they ain't caught me yet! Yeah, I know, that child molesting charge really got you, didn't it? I mean after a second offense and everything, it's kinda hard to say, but No, lucky first time!

Well, this is eh Live intro from Storyteller show, recorded April 1, in Los Angeles : "This is a song about an automobile. Closing Time was released by Asylum on March 6, The single featured the same song pressed on both sides of the record, with the A-side in mono and the B-side in stereo. Waits' first national tour coincided with the album's release and ran from April to June The band consisted of Waits on vocals, acoustic guitar, and piano, Bob Webb on double bass, Rich Phelps on trumpet, and John Forsha on guitar.

This tour consisted of Waits on vocals, acoustic guitar, and piano, with Bob Webb on double bass. After its release, Closing Time was received positively by the American music press, although coverage was limited.

In Rolling Stone , critic Stephen Holden praised it as "a remarkable debut album" and branded Waits as "a boozier, earthier version" of Randy Newman who similarly "delights in rummaging through the attics of nostalgia". Waits exploits an honest sentimentality which he undercuts just enough to be credible". The album received little coverage internationally, with its promotion in the UK being little more than a featured advert in the NME. William Ruhlmann, in a retrospective AllMusic review, holds the album in high regard, describing Waits' "lovelorn lyrics" as being "sentimental without being penetrating", while also noting Waits' "gift for gently rolling pop melodies" and "self-conscious melancholy", the latter of which "can be surprisingly moving".

Closing Time reached a wider audience through cover versions of its songs by more successful artists and have since continued to have been covered. Later in , Tim Buckley released the album Sefronia , with a cover of "Martha," [7] the first ever cover of a Waits song by a known artist.

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Tom Waits. The album's opening track features distinctive use of piano with folk-led instrumentation, a key factor to how the album eventually sounded. Retrieved March 21, May 12, Retrieved April 22, British Phonographic Industry.

Retrieved July 27, Select albums in the Format field. Select Gold in the Certification field. Montreal International Jazz Festival. Archived from the original on May 25, Retrieved April 24, Elektra Records. Trending Tracks 1. Features Exploring the local sounds and scenes at Noise Pop Fest.

Albums of the latest and loved, and the ones to look out for discover By okspud1 15 Feb , am. Friday 28 August Saturday 29 August Sunday 30 August Monday 31 August Tuesday 1 September Wednesday 2 September Thursday 3 September Friday 4 September Saturday 5 September Sunday 6 September Monday 7 September Tuesday 8 September Wednesday 9 September Thursday 10 September Friday 11 September Saturday 12 September Sunday 13 September Monday 14 September Tuesday 15 September Wednesday 16 September Thursday 17 September Friday 18 September Saturday 19 September Sunday 20 September Monday 21 September Tuesday 22 September Wednesday 23 September Thursday 24 September Friday 25 September Saturday 26 September Sunday 27 September Monday 28 September Tuesday 29 September Wednesday 30 September Thursday 1 October Friday 2 October Saturday 3 October Sunday 4 October Monday 5 October Tuesday 6 October Wednesday 7 October Thursday 8 October Friday 9 October Saturday 10 October Sunday 11 October Monday 12 October Tuesday 13 October Wednesday 14 October Thursday 15 October Friday 16 October Saturday 17 October Sunday 18 October Monday 19 October Tuesday 20 October Wednesday 21 October Thursday 22 October Friday 23 October Saturday 24 October Sunday 25 October Monday 26 October Tuesday 27 October Wednesday 28 October Thursday 29 October Monday 2 November Tuesday 3 November Wednesday 4 November Thursday 5 November Friday 6 November Saturday 7 November Sunday 8 November



Sitemap

Ronnie Woods - Sugar (Vinyl), Secret Hidden Track (The Tiger Story) - Richard Cheese & Lounge Against The Machine - Id Like A Virg, Offerings To All Buddhas - Igor Galan - Terra Tibet (CD, Album), Thats All You Got - Menthols - Michigan Works (Vinyl, LP), Shadows In The Night - Insulter (2) - Blood Spits, Violences And Insults (File), Концерт Для Хора № XXI Фа Минор «Живый В Помощи Вышняго, В Крови Бога Небесного», Me & U - Various - Bad Boy 20th Anniversary Box Set Edition (CD), Black Is Black - Joy (9) - Joy And Tears (Vinyl, LP, Album), Várj, Itt Van A Nyár (Mozso-boy Mix), Various - Freedom In A Vacuum (Vinyl, LP), Vuelve - Mocedades - Desde Que Tú Te Has Ido (Vinyl, LP, Album), S.Y.P.H. - S.Y.P.H. (Vinyl, LP, Album), Aztec Mummy Man - The Sandworms - In Astrovision (CD, Album) Doctor Jimmy - The Who - Quadrophenia (Music From The Soundtrack Of The Who Film) (CD, Album)

8 Comments

  1. Nisar Permalink
    Tom Waits's first album "Closing Time" is appropriately titled, because it perfectly captures the mood of the bar between - a.m. during last call. This is one of the definitive late night listening discs in my CD collection, and if I had a dollar for every time I've slipped this one on after a night at the bars I could quit my day job/5().
    Reply
  2. Nikazahn Permalink
    " Ol' '55 " is a song by American musician Tom Waits. It is the opening track and lead single from Waits' debut studio album, Closing Time, released in March on Asylum Records. Written by Waits and produced by Jerry Yester, "Ol' '55" was a minor hit. It has been described as more conventional than Waits' later payexchange.net: Folk.
    Reply
  3. Arashira Permalink
    Closing Time is the debut album by American singer-songwriter Tom Waits, released on March 6, on Asylum Records. Produced and arranged by former Lovin' Spoonful member Jerry Yester, Closing Time was the first of seven of Waits' major releases by payexchange.net: Folk, jazz, blues.
    Reply
  4. Tokazahn Permalink
    Tom Waits' debut album is a minor-key masterpiece filled with songs of late-night payexchange.net his chosen narrow range of the cocktail bar pianistics and muttered vocals, Waits and producer Jerry Yester manage to deliver a surprisingly broad collection of styles, from the jazzy "Virginia Avenue" to the uptempo off-kilter funkiness of "Ice Cream Man."9/
    Reply
  5. Gutaxe Permalink
    View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the CD release of Closing Time on Discogs/5(4).
    Reply
  6. Kihn Permalink
    View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the CD release of "Closing Time" on Discogs/5(50).
    Reply
  7. Kazragul Permalink
    View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the CD release of Closing Time on Discogs. Label: Elektra - CD • Format: CD Album, Reissue • Country: Canada • Genre: Jazz, Blues, Pop • Style: Smooth Jazz, Piano Blues, Ballad5/5(3).
    Reply
  8. Nalkree Permalink
    Closing Time Tom Waits. Released March 6, Closing Time Tracklist. 1. Ol' 55 Lyrics. K 2. I Hope That I More Tom Waits albums Used Songs Mule Variations.
    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *